The Beauty of Community

c57

 

I was standing at the sink, fighting my dirty dishes with water and soap, but the real battle going on was in my heart.

I was feeling attacked, emotionally, physically, spiritually.  Nothing irks me more than the enemy of our souls, lurking in dark corners at the lowest moments of our lives.

I was crying, begging for help.   I felt weak, helpless and alone.

I heard the sound of crunching gravel, and saw a long red van pulling up by the house.  You have to understand, we live in the boonies.  We’ve been referred to as the “Little House on the Prairie” by our therapists.   I rarely get unexpected company, because normally if someone is going to make the trip to my house, they make sure I’m going to be home.

But there she was, our pastor’s wife, with a bag full of cookies fresh from the bakery, a huge hug, and a prayer.

c55

 

Did you know the combination of butter and chocolate is actually healthy for you?

I know.  I sat down and ate one right there.

And I felt so much better.

I may or may not be eating another as I write this post.  The addition of some flavored jo increases the health benefits even more.

A couple of days later, this friend drove 3 hours one way (with her toddler, no less!)  to come and spend the day.

c52

 

She brought a homemade Panera Style lunch, which we slowly ate as we talked…and talked.  Nothing like old friends, and the instant connection you feel when you’re together.

c53

 

And flowers.   She brought tulips, one of my favs.  Something about them is so delicate and breathtaking I can feel the tears coming when I look at them.  And they remind me:

c50

 

Community.   Friends.  Support.  Bearing our burdens with us.

Our lives are so full of community these days.

I could give so many more examples of kindness–friends coming over, taking us out to eat, beautiful flowers, food, texts and emails, boxes in the mail, free massages,  tea parties….

….and cards.   Did I mention cards?

c63

 

c62

 

We love getting the mail…it’s like Christmas.   I love to sink into the recliner and slowly read each one, and let it minister to me…most days I have tears streaming down my cheeks, and I can feel the healing.   Thank you for cards.

People are motivated by different things, and I have discovered what speaks to me more than almost anything else–is BEAUTY.   I love beautiful things, people, places.

c56

 

That’s why, when I see a bouquet of flowers or a gorgeous sunset…I feel this stirring in my spirit.   It just does something for me, can’t explain it.

c54

 

Here’s the word I was looking for–it gives me HOPE.   Makes me remember there’s more than this life…so much more.  And that gives me reason to keep on going.

c61

 

c60

 

c59

 

Thank you, friends, for being a true community surrounding us with love, friendship, and support.   Without a doubt, we are blessed far and beyond what most people experience at a time like this.

Brooklyn and I are having a quiet Sunday morning at home.   We thought her cough and cold was much better, than in the last week it has gotten worse again.   We are fighting hard, determined to get rid of this junk!!   And we are still dreaming of spring…..

Today is a beautiful day, and I plan to bundle her up and go get some fresh air.

c64

 

Thankfully, she is still happy and grinning.   This was her response to Erv kissing her goodbye as he left for church.

A few days ago, I listened to an old radio broadcast CD that I have from Steven Curtis and Beth Ann Chapman.   My favorite quote, which I personalized:

c51

 

And one last thought to leave you with:

c58

 

Love you all,

Jenny

12 responses to “The Beauty of Community

  1. Am I really the first to comment?? — missed you n Brooklyn this morning. Hang in there my friend! The journey is tough…and rough…wet n soggy from tears…and we know you hurt LOTS. Love n lots of prayers for you all. (Brooklyn get well fast!)

  2. Dearest Jen,
    I love you so much and I lift you to Jesus everyday. My heart aches knowing the pain you and Erv are going through. Praying that Brooklyn beats this cold quickly.

  3. Aww, wow… What a beautiful message. And your heart so hurts! Wow, yes…

    I love this about God…
    Exodus 3:7  And the LORD said, I have seen your affliction, my daughter, Jenny, and have heard your cry; and I know your sorrows.

    Always caring!

  4. We prayed for Brooklyn and you & Erv this morning in Sunday School. It was just good to hear from again. Please keep us posted on how Brooklyn is doing. Love you all and will continue to lift you to the Father. Someday this pain of loss will be gone forever! HUGS!!!
    Aunt Wilma

  5. Jen, your real-ness(is that a word?) always encourages me. Thanks for being open, so we can catch a glimpse of how your heart is feeling…it helps us remember to pray(believe me, we have not stopped!). I wish I could just cruise on out the dirt roads to your house. I could use a good day of being with you. I wouldn’t have ‘words of wisdom’, but just to remember our angels together, and to share the secret thoughts of our hearts in the safety of a friend who cares. You have a beautiful heart! Praying for Brooklyn to feel good health again. Love you guys!

  6. Still praying for you. I don’t get online very often, but I do think of you often. May the Lord continue to heal, and work through those who care for you!

  7. Community… it helps your dad and me so much to know that you have people who ‘touch’ you with love and healing when we are cannot be there very much. Our hearts ache and our souls cry out for God to hug you when the dark one comes to steal your serenity. Love you forever!

  8. Thanks for sharing your heart….I was blessed again from reading your thoughts. Do you have plans to come with Erv to OH next week? Hope so! Sending a hug to you and Brooklyn today!

  9. Beautiful! ~ thats the word that came to mind as I saw your pics, and your words, but the character and spirit that you bestow in the midst of all your pain is what is glowing. Bless you for letting God shape and form you into such a Beautiful image of Him. Praying for Brooklyn’s health and always for all of you as you keep plodding, step by step. Spring is coming, and yes, the best is yet to come! Love you so much! Aunt Ina

  10. Somehow i missed your last posts…so i sat down this afternoon and read them all, and some of them twice 🙂
    I hope so very much Brooklyn is feeling better! Kierra has pneumonia again, but yesterday, she started smiling and waving her arms again…so I know she’s feeling MUCH better…
    Keep writing…and hanging on to beauty in life!
    You are one day closer to hugging your two sweethearts again!
    I love the Tomboy in Courtney blog!!! Sounds like She totally lived life to the fullest!
    Love and hugs to you….and Prayers! Anita

Leave a comment